Discover my Secret to Commuting That Makes Every Trip Exciting…

During a one-way commute, I can easily watch an animated movie and still have time to spare. I live in Brampton so my commute is, on a good day, about an hour and a half. There’s that nifty new shuttle, but it’s a small Brampton Transit bus and spots aren’t guaranteed. I, being my usual paranoid, punctual self, prefer to play it safe and opt for a couple of MiWay buses from the terminal (No fare! Thanks UPass!) and sacrifice an hour of my morning.

To most, one hour would be a sacrifice. That one extra hour for me, that’s my me-time.

I look forward to bus rides. I was that one kid on the school bus that loved long rides and not getting home until well after the sun set. The motion usually lulled me to sleep, whether on a bus or in a car. I didn’t have to think about anything. I would fall asleep at Point A, wake up at Point B.

But now that I’m in university, I’ve learned that I need to maximize my time. So some days I find myself messily highlighting missed readings or cracking open a textbook.

Most days though, I have podcasts. Podcasts are like radio talk shows you can download onto a device, but with a little more variety. They can range from scary story performances to people discussing how some bad movies ever got made.

graphic-2

I get completely immersed in these storyworlds, these reports to the point where I finish a couple of episodes and the bus has already arrived on campus. I get off the bus in a daze, wondering where the near-two hour commute went.

narrative non fic.jpg

One engaging podcast that I’ve been voraciously consuming is Revisionist History with Malcolm Gladwell. The 10-week program “will go back and reinterpret something from the past: an event, a person, an idea. Something overlooked. Something misunderstood.” I was first introduced to this podcast by my utmOne Scholar professor, Nicole Laliberte. We were assigned the “Food Fight” episode last week, and I haven’t looked back since.

original2

Gladwell, the host, is an accomplished journalist and author of multiple non-fiction bestsellers. He frames each episode’s focus elegantly through narratives and reports with a soothing timbre. It feels like a conversation with a revered professor, not some fringe history lesson. Each episode is intriguing and provocative. Every time the end credits roll, I question my worldview. Every time.

Next time you have a bus ride, think about which Podcast might resonate the most with you. Even if you don’t have a long commute, you can always take the free shuttle to visit the St. George campus and have your first podcast experience!

Leave a Reply

